Scarring Alopecia

Distortion of Normal Follicular Architecture 

Scarring alopecias are a group of hair loss conditions that give permanent hair loss. Common types of scarring alopecia are:

  • Lichen planopilaris (LPP)
  • Frontal fibrosing alopecia (FFA),
  • Pseudopelade (PPB),
  • Folliculitis decalvans (FD) and
  • Central centrifugal cicatricial alopecia (CCCA) 

The various types of scarring alopecia look different, however many share some common features. Lymphocytic scarring alopecias is one group of scarring alopecias that share in common the destruction of the normal hair follicle bundles of hair. The cause of this destruction are immune cells known as lymphocytes. LPP, FFA, CCCA and PPB belong to this group of "lymphocytic" scarring alopecias.

Normally hair follicles are grouped together in bundles of 1, 2 and 3 haired units. In the lymphocytic scarring alopecias, these bundles of 2 and 3 haired follicles disappear and what is left is a large number of single haired follicles.

Dr. Jeff Donovan is a Canadian and US board certified dermatologist specializing exclusively in hair loss. To schedule a consultation, please call the Whistler office at 604.283.1887

Share This